Korean Dramas/Shows, Latest Posts, TV & Film

K-Drama ‘Happiness’ – Initial Thoughts

This banner might be a bit too happy looking for this drama…

This drama features: A mysterious virus with bloodthirsty side effects, problematic neighbours and a fake marriage

Yesterday, I caved and started watching ‘Happiness.’ The drama was on my K-drama watchlist, but I was thinking of watching it a bit later, as I wasn’t sure I wanted to watch a ‘zombie-like’ drama right now. However, with encouragement from my sister, we decided to watch it together. Currently, we’ve almost finished the third episode, and I think it’s pretty good so far.

A little synopsis:

‘Happiness’ is set in the near future – a few years from now, I think – where the worst of coronavirus is over, but the virus is still in recent memory. A new virus that turns people into zombie-like creatures has come on the scene and appears to be linked to a mysterious drug.

Our protagonists:

Yoon Sae-Bom (played by Han Hyo-Joo) is part of a Special Operation Unit, and she gets dragged into the investigation of the virus, due to an incident at her training centre. She is a brave and smart character, who is good at staying calm even in crazy situations. She is very curious and doesn’t hesitate to put herself in dangerous situations.

Jung Yi-Hyun (played by Park Hyun-Sik) wanted to be baseball player when he was younger, but an accident forces him to give up his dreams, and he becomes a police officer instead. He is also a smart character and is friends with Sae-Bom, but he has liked her since they were in high school.

My initial thoughts:

So far, we’ve been introduced to our main characters, and the scene is set, as we encounter several cases of the bizarre disease, and see the government’s response to it. The drama has successfully captured my attention, and I like the female lead, as she seems like a pretty cool character. As expected, there’s been some pretty gruesome scenes, but as usual, I’ve been hiding behind a blanket when I need to haha 😅 I think that there’s been a good mix of tense scenes, fight sequences, and slower scenes that give us backstory and explore the dynamics between the characters.

At the moment, I’m glad I started this drama, and I would recommend it to people who like thrillers with time to breathe in between. A little disclaimer though is that ‘Happiness’ is quite addictive! It’s also feels more grounded in reality than usual ‘zombie’ content, as in we aren’t launched straight into an apocalyptic world. I look forward to continuing with this drama. I might do another update on it, when I’m further into the drama, but I won’t be doing episode by episode reviews like I’m doing for ‘The King’s Affection.’

Side note: It took me a while to realise that Sae-Bom’s friend, Lee Seung-Young, is the actor Lee Kyu-Hung, who is the male lead in ‘Hi Bye Mama’ (of which I watched a few episodes). I felt like he looked familiar, but I couldn’t remember what drama he was in. I think his hair colour in this drama was throwing me off.

Are you watching ‘Happiness’ ? Let me know how you’re finding it!

3 thoughts on “K-Drama ‘Happiness’ – Initial Thoughts”

Leave a comment